Interview with Clark’s Bowling Club

Interview with Clark’s Bowling Club

Interview with Clark’s Bowling Club

 

What does Montreal inspire you?

Clark’s Bowling Club : Montreal is where the group was formed, with scenes and rehearsals in every dark corner in winter, and the outdoors in summer, on the street or in the parks. It was our musical playground for 8 years, in different projects and with different musicians, with the real starting point on Clark’s Street, in a basement, in 2014.

 

How would you describe your music?

C.B.C. : It’s always a little hard to answer that! We make a subtle mix with a big funk base, a layer of hip-hop, a few doses of jazz in the chords, solos and electronics to link everything and make you dance!

 

Your ritual before you go on stage?

C.B.C. : A big hug with all the musicians, always! It’s important, you need a lot of complicity for a show to go well. You should never neglect the improvisational part, whether a solo lasts 32 bars instead of 16, whether an intro is taken more quickly or more slowly, so you should not stay in your corner with your head down on your instrument but rather lift your eyes to communicate. And then a concert where we don’t communicate, it sounds really less good and we take no pleasure!

 

What music do you listen to motivate yourselves?

C.B.C. : In summer, we listen to a lot of funk to motivate ourselves! And in Montreal, there is an effervescence of funk it is incredible, whether it is more traditional funk with The Brooks or more modern with Voyage Funktastique, it is not for nothing that it is becoming the capital of Funk in the world!

… and to chill during summer?

C.B.C. : To chill, we’re very hip neo-soul in the band, we’re finished fans of D’Angelo and Isaiah Sharkey, or Erykah Badu and Rob Glasper.

 

Outstanding memory of your musical career?

C.B.C. : The launch of Cool Kids, our first album, at Bleury in 2017. We had just given everything for a week to finish our album after a year apart, and we had to prepare the live in three days. We arrive on stage, and we do our best live to date. It was during the Jazz Festival, people lined up to go home during the concert. We got great feedback from everyone on the way down. It was the best feeling in the world, and that’s when we thought we really wanted to make it a career.

 

2 artists you would advise us to follow?

C.B.C. : Anomalie is an electro pianist from Montreal who is still too little known for his talent. He has an alien technique, a unique sound and incredible concerts. Go see him! Otherwise, the band Knower deserves the detour, with an ultra offbeat universe and jazz fusion tracks of the future.

 

Any word for your MEG 2018 audience?

C.B.C. : We all had the opportunity to launch our 2nd album together in Lyon (France), and the first of us are leaving in September. So this concert will be the last one before a little while and we’ll send everything so that it’ll be especially hot as atmosphere! The MEG festival is also special because it mixes local artists with their French cousins, which will make the atmosphere even more special for us! We can’t wait to see you there anyway!

 

Learn more

 

Your playlist of tomorrow, with Clark’s Bowling Club

About the Author

Interview avec Clark’s Bowling Club

Interview avec Clark’s Bowling Club

Interview avec Clark’s Bowling Club

 

Qu’est-ce que Montréal vous inspire?

Clark’s Bowling Club : Montréal, c’est là où le groupe s’est formé, avec des scènes et des répétitions dans tous ses recoins sombres en hiver, et du plein air en été, dans la rue ou dans les parcs. Ça a été notre terrain de jeu musical pendant 8 ans, dans différents projets et avec différents musiciens, avec le vrai point de départ sur la rue Clark’s, dans un sous-sol, en 2014.

 

Comment qualifieriez-vous votre musique?

C.B.C. : C’est toujours un peu dur de répondre à ça! On fait un mélange subtil avec une grosse base de funk, une couche de hip-hop, quelques doses de jazz dans les accords et les solos et de l’électronique pour lier le tout et faire danser!

 

Votre rituel avant de monter sur scène?

C.B.C. : Un gros câlin avec tous les musiciens, toujours! C’est important, il faut beaucoup de complicité pour qu’un show se passe bien. Il ne faut jamais négliger la part d’improvisation, qu’un solo dure 32 mesures au lieu de 16, qu’une intro soit prise plus rapidement ou plus lentement, donc on a intérêt à pas rester dans son coin la tête baissée sur notre instrument mais plutôt lever les yeux pour communiquer. Et puis un concert où on communique pas, ça sonne drôlement moins bien et on prend aucun plaisir!

 

Quelle musique écoutez-vous pour vous motiver?

C.B.C. : En été, on écoute beaucoup de funk pour se motiver! Et à Montréal, il y a une effervescence de funk c’est incroyable, que ce soit du funk plus traditionnel avec The Brooks ou du plus moderne avec Voyage Funktastique, c’est pas pour rien que c’est en train de devenir la capitale du Funk dans le monde!

…  et pour chiller l’été?

C.B.C. : Pour chiller, on est très branchés neo-soul dans le groupe, on est des fans finis de D’Angelo et Isaiah Sharkey, ou encore Erykah Badu et Rob Glasper.

 

Souvenir marquant de votre carrière musicale?

C.B.C. : Le lancement de Cool Kids, notre premier album, au Bleury en 2017. On venait de tout donner pendant une semaine pour finir notre album après un an séparés, et on avait dû préparer le live ensuite en trois jours. On arrive sur scène, et on fait notre meilleur live à date. C’était pendant le festival de Jazz, les gens faisaient la queue pour rentrer pendant le concert. On a eu de super retours de tout le monde en descendant. Tout le stress est retombé d’un coup, c’était la meilleure sensation du monde, et c’est là qu’on s’est dit qu’on voulait vraiment en faire une carrière.

 

2 artistes que vous nous conseilleriez de suivre?

C.B.C. : Anomalie est un pianiste électro Montréalais qui est encore trop peu connu pour son talent. Il a une technique d’extra-terrestre, un son unique et des concerts incroyables. Allez le voir! Sinon, le groupe Knower mérite le détour, avec un univers ultra décalé et des morceaux jazz fusion du futur.

 

Un mot pour ton public du MEG 2018?

C.B.C. : On a eu l’opportunité d’aller tous lancer notre 2ème album ensemble à Lyon (France), et les premiers d’entre nous partent dès septembre. Ce concert sera donc le dernier avant un petit moment et on va tout envoyer pour que ça soit spécialement chaud comme ambiance! Le festival MEG est aussi particulier car il mélange les artistes locaux avec leurs cousins français, ce qui rendra l’ambiance encore plus particulière pour nous! On a très hâte de vous y voir en tout cas!

 

En savoir plus

 

Ta playlist de demain, avec Clark’s Bowling Club

About the Author